Watch, Follow, &
Connect with Us
Public Report
Report From: Delphi-BCB/IDE/Project Management/Project Source    [ Add a report in this area ]  
Report #:  66781   Status: Closed
Project file (.dproj) always turn to modifed state when first open
Project:  Delphi Build #:  12.0.3170.16989
Version:    12.0 Submitted By:   Chee Yang Chau
Report Type:  Basic functionality failure Date Reported:  9/15/2008 1:39:37 AM
Severity:    Serious / Highly visible problem Last Updated: 3/20/2012 2:24:39 AM
Platform:    All platforms Internal Tracking #:   265286
Resolution: Fixed (Resolution Comments) Resolved in Build: : 12.0.3273.18681
Duplicate of:  None
Voting and Rating
Overall Rating: No Ratings Yet
0.00 out of 5
Total Votes: None
Description
When I open a project file (MyPackage.dproj) in Delphi 2009 IDE, the state of the file turn to modified once I open.  I didn't make any changes to the project yet.  After investigate the problem, it was caused by "LIB Prefix" setting in Project Options.

I have a project group with 80++ projects.  All projects has LIB Prefix setting.  If I close the project group, I have to answer 80++ dialogs.
Steps to Reproduce:
Please follow the steps to replay the problem:

1. Extract the zip attachment.
2. Open Delphi 2009 IDE.
3. Open the MyPackage.dproj using Delphi 2009 IDE
4. Click File | Close All to close all projects.
5. A dialog prompted if you want to save the project.
6. Press button "No" to ignore it.

Remove the "LIB Prefix" and the problem will gone:

7. Re-open MyPackage.dproj again.
8. Click Project | Options..., select "Description" page and delete text in "LIB Prefix".
9. Press OK to close Project Options dialog
10. Save and close the package.
11. Re-open MyPackage.dproj again.
12. Click File | Close All to close all projects and no dialog prompted.




Workarounds
Don't use LIB Prefix for your project option setting.
Attachment
66781.zip
Comments

Adam Wu at 9/19/2008 4:40:19 PM -
A possibly related problem in Delphi 2009:
Building a project with modified (and unsaved) configuration makes the IDE think the project is saved.

Open a project (with lib prefix);
Switch its build config (i.e. from Debug to Release);
Build the project;
After a successful build, the "save all" button on the IDE goes to disabled state; and,
when you close the project the IDE will not prompt you to save.
When you load the project again, you will find changed build target is not saved.

Server Response from: ETNACODE01